Why write a blog?

So why did I decide to begin writing this blog? I have recently left my job working in mental health. It wasn’t making me happy and I knew deep down that it wasn’t what I wanted to do. It certainly wasn’t an easy decision to make as I thought I would work in mental health for the rest of my life. However, sometimes we have to trust in ourselves enough to take a leap of faith. I am also extremely lucky to have an incredibly supportive husband who put my welfare first and gave me the thumbs up to take some time out to contemplate my next move.

I am a creative person and used to have aspirations to become a writer when I was a child. As I got older these aspirations gave way to reality as I realised that writing was difficult to get into and I couldn’t work out how to make it happen. I also developed a new area of interest, namely psychology.  So I embarked on a six year psychology degree course with The Open University. While I still find psychology fascinating, six years of hard work and tedious assignment writing can soon suffocate enthusiasm! I have now realised that I am never going to be a Psychologist and I’m ok with that. So I have taken some time to reconnect with what actually makes me tick.

Reading has always been incredibly important to me. It is a simple pleasure but one which I have found has a multitude of benefits. A good book is a sanctuary for me when life becomes a little too heavy. It is incredible how easily I find myself drawn into the story and away from whatever it is that is troubling me in real life. Reading is incredibly relaxing. I love climbing into bed on a night time and snuggling down with a good book. It is a remedy to boredom and makes my imagination come to life.

So, I am writing this blog to rekindle my love for writing by combining it with my passion for books. I am excited to give it a go and see where the journey takes me.

 

Leave a Reply

